Round Again

There’s a worthwhile piece over on HuffPo on the subject of “Fat Talk”:  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/05/27/fat-talk-women_n_5331507.html

***

One friend recently sent me a link to a nice piece about the now-pretty-famous series of body-positive photos that Taryn Brumfitt has going around on social media. Another posted on FB the other day about the weird disjunction between her conscious enjoyment of the wide (pun absolutely and shamelessly intended) variety of shapes, sizes, and colors in which human beauty comes to us while she was walking through the Denver airport and the magazine racks full of airbrushed “perfect” bodies and articles about getting in shape for bathing suit season.

My personal definition of “in shape for bathing suit season,” by the way, is “last year’s suit still fits and has no holes or dead lycra.”

Verily, I say unto you, it is Bathing Suit Season again. It happens, oddly enough, every year. And every year, women (and not a few men) go into morasses of self-loathing, Sloughs of Despond, and deep pits of despair.

Verily, I say unto you, Fuck It. Put some decently comfortable stretchy stuff on your body and put your body in the water, and anyone who is offended by any of your lumps (imagined, or otherwise), excesses (imagined or otherwise) can go poke themselves in their judgey, inhumane eyes. Because the water feels GOOD and it absolutely does not care what shape, size, or color your body is, it is going to play nicely with it, welcome it, soothe it, float it. I am, in my more whimsical moments, sure that water likes having bodies in it. We are, after all, made of the stuff, so it’s a family reunion, right?

And that, my brothers, sisters, and transes-of-all-sorts, is what I have to say about bathing suit season this year.

Well, that, and the fact that my gloriously fat baby granddaughter in her flowered, skater-skirted bottom and coordinating striped rash-guard top pitter-pattering around the pool was, without doubt or question, the most beautiful human at the pool when we went on Monday. Seriously.

And that there were two drop-dead gorgeous women there. One had two kids and looked like a Brazilian dream in her perfectly-chosen bikini. The other one, I would guess, weighed between 250 & 300 lbs and was wearing a bathing suit I’ve almost bought myself a couple of times. Four, if you include both my daughters. There were probably others, but it’s a really big pool and I was mostly looking at my granddaughter.

And the water felt goodgoodgood.

****

On other fronts, a woman I know was taking a new weight loss drug, Qsymia. I’m not a big fan of weight loss drugs (they’re questionably safe and normally promote speedy loss, which I have little faith in), but it was making her feel as if she had some power over food and that was making her happy, so it seemed like a potentially good thing. Then her insurer informed her that they wouldn’t pay for it. Since it runs about $250. a month, it’s not a small matter that they wouldn’t cover it. I mentioned this to my endocrinologist yesterday while we were discussing what I’m going to do now that my shithead insurer has decided it gets to tell me that I can’t have Victoza ( once-a-day injection with nano-needle) and have, instead, to choose between Byetta (twice a day–a bit of a nuisance) or Bydureon (once-a-week, but a big needle that injects a dissolve-able suture and leaves a lump). I was her second patient of the day to have the same billet-doux in hand. She said she has no info or experience with Qsymia because every one of her patients who’d tried it had had their insurers turn them down. Now you and I both know that the same insurer that is messing with my meds and denying those who want it access to Qsymia would pay for all of us to have bariatric surgery or do a “medical” weight-loss program of pretty much any sort in a nano-second, in spite of overwhelming evidence that neither is healthy or consistently effective. For-profit medical insurance: one of the worst ideas ever.

Delaware being the teeny place it is, I will write to the Insurance Commissioner and may actually get some help with the Victoza thing. The insurer in question, Highmark, bought out BC/BS a couple of years ago and has been making the lives of many, many Delawareans difficult ever since–mountainous incompetence, idiotic complexities, and invasive blather have mucked up what was an imperfect but decent system. Whose idea it was to sell out to them, I do not know, but it was a BAD idea. I doubt my letter will be the first the IC has gotten. Indeed, since we share Highmark, she may have some serious opinions of her own.

But why do insurers do this crap? It makes no sense to refuse to pay for regimens that are working, and then may for much,much more expensive and dangerous interventions. Its the same landscape of idiocy in which they pay for bariatric surgery, but then don’t pay for any plastic surgery afterwards to deal with excessive skin, in spite of the fact that all that skin can be harvested for use as life-saving grafts for others. There is neither logic, nor sense in the whole thing.

But then again, humans aren’t particularly logical.

 

Image

 

 

One thought on “Round Again

  1. Miriam Sagan says:

    Despite my mad appreciation of your writing I am now slightly worried about my two somewhat dorky somewhat faded bathing suits I am bringing to go to the beach with you…but I know you can always help me shop if needed. The desert just isn’t full of funky beachwear…

Leave a Reply

