Round Rage

I am not in the mood to write a blog today. I have about a zillion other things to do. I haven’t written in ages for a bunch of reasons, but the main one is that I felt like I’d had my say and was done.

I thought about writing, though, when Stephen Colbert started talking so much about his own weight on The Late Show. But I couldn’t summon the energy to repeat, and he there was something sad and plaintive about the whole thing that failed to make me mad.

That was then. Now we have 45/Thing/The-Toddler-in-Chief. And Thing is fat. Not HUGE, but still fat, and famously prone to eating a cliche fat-person-diet and not moving any more than he can manage. And all the liberals/progressives now have a sense that it’s okay to rag on a fat person because there’s a super-visible fat person out there who couldn’t even have been made up by Disney as an exemplar of everything, EVERYTHING negative anyone likes (and make no mistake, that definitely was me accusing your non-fat selves of reveling in this excuse to make fat-jokes) to think about fat people.

So here I am grumpily writing a blog. And, since I am not willing to give the subject a large chunk of my day, I’ll get right to the point. EVERY TIME YOU MAKE A FAT-JOKE ABOUT 45, YOU ARE MAKING THE SAME ACCUSATIONS AGAINST ME AND EVERY OTHER FAT PERSON YOU KNOW. And, yes, I am taking it personally. We all are. The world is full of people who are narcissistic, gleefully cruel, racist, sexist, willfully stupid, and a long list of criminalities and are righteously skinny. Paul Ryan comes to mind pretty easily. McDonalds, Diet Coke, and riding a golf cart may be unhealthy (okay, definitely are), but they do not make you an inexcusable fuckwad. Being an inexcusable fuckwad makes you an inexcusable fuckwad, and I would (on behalf of the plump/chunky/adipose/obese everywhere) would be grateful if you would stop making a connection that has no basis in reality. So once again, let me run through the Fatmatters Main Theses:

  1. Skinny DOES NOT = smart, decent, humane, healthy, or sane.
  2. Fat DOES NOT = stupid, barbaric, Scrooge-like, sick, or crazy.
  3. Human bodies are not the proper location for abuse by other humans, EVER.
  4. Being legit angry about someone’s execrable behavior does NOT negate 1, 2, or 3. Got it? No? Then fuck off, because you’re doing the same thing 45 does when he says things about immigrants or women or childrens’ health or Confederate monuments. This makes you an asshole. Wake up.

3 thoughts on “Round Rage

  1. cathcarter says:

    Amen! It was true of Chris Christie and it’s true of Donald Trump. And someone, maybe Kate Harding, tweeted “All evidence suggests the man colluded with a foreign power to steal an election, but BY GOD, HE WILL NOT GET AWAY WITH CLAIMING TO WEIGH LESS THAN HE DOES.” And, yup.

    But I’m very glad to see you back. Your blog is my favorite. xoxo

  2. marycomfortstevens says:

    Go, Devon!!!
    Xoxox, mcs

    Mary Comfort Stevens
    Senior Assistant Director of Admissions
    Office of Undergraduate Admissions | Vanderbilt University
    2305 West End Avenue | Nashville, TN 37203
    P: 615/322-0364 | F: 615/343-7765| Toll free: 800-288-0432
    [Like us on Facebook!] [The Vanderbilt Undergraduate Admissions Blog] [Connect with us on Instagram] [Follow us on Twitter!] [Follow us on Tumblr!]

Leave a comment